top of page


The Algarve coach and manager will occupy the position until 2025, succeeding João Diogo Pinto dos Santos, who now holds the position of Vice President. Elections took place at the General Assembly held last Friday.

The AESDP – Portuguese Surf School Association held its Ordinary General Meeting of 2021, at which the Activity Report and Accounts 2020 and the Activity Plan and Budget 2021 were approved, in addition to having elected the members of the Governing Bodies for the 2021-2025 mandate. Among those chosen, it is worth mentioning the position of Chairman of the Board, which will be held by renowned Coach Sérgio Wu Brandão, founder of the Algarve Surf Clube and Algarve Surf School and responsible for training some of the best surfers in the Algarve, such as Marlon Lipke, Miguel Mouzinho, Alex Botelho, the brothers Luca and Joackim Guichard, Francisco Canelas, among others, having also been part of the training and monitoring of athletes such as Gony Zubizarreta and the current WCT Leonardo Fioravanti. The Board headed by him will be complemented by the former President, João Diogo Pinto dos Santos, from Porto, and by the former National Surfing Selector and current Longboard Selector, Miguel Ruivo.

This election marks the beginning of a new chapter in the history of AESDP, which, according to its new President, will continue the work developed so far. "The truth is that it changes the 'face' of the President, but everyone can count on the same dynamic and dedication that we have had, in the struggle for representation and defense of the interests of our members. It will be four decisive years for national surfing and we have, as the main objective of this mandate, to manage once and for all to create a national legislation, which defines uniform rules and requirements throughout the coast, for access to surf teaching and training activities.” , says Sérgio Wu Brandão.

The performance and daily management of the Association will continue to be carried out by the Executive Director, Afonso Teixeira.

Complete composition of the governing bodies:

Direction General Meeting Board Supervisory Board

President President President

Sérgio Wu Brandão David Patrício Lucas Rosa João Pedro Rosa Dias

Vice-President Secretary Secretary

João Diogo Pinto dos Santos Enrique Lenzano Bruno Bairros

Secretary Secretary Treasurer

Miguel Palma Ruivo Fernando André Teixeira Dário Rodrigues


bottom of page